Most California highways have a default speed limit of 65 mph, 55 mph for an undivided two-lane highway, 25 mph in school zones and residential areas, and up to 75 mph in posted areas. Drivers who are caught speeding in California are subject to hefty fines. In fact, the state has some of the strictest speeding laws in the nation. The potential costs associated with this type of charge may encourage you to contact a traffic ticket lawyer San Jose who can defend your rights in court. He or she can speak on your behalf in court to argue for dismissal or decreased penalties. If you need cash upfront to pay their fees, look up “what are pink slips” to see if you can get a title loan to cover the cost.
Base fines for speeding
The costs associated with a California speeding ticket start with the base fine. For 2020, you will receive a base fine of $238 for conviction of driving up to 15 mph over the speed limit, $367 for traveling 16 to 25 mph over the speed limit and $490 for traveling more than 26 mph over the speed limit.
Also read: The 4 Most Important Actions Following a DUI Arrest
California court fees
Although the specific fees for speeding vary by county, you will likely have some or all of these costs added to your base fine:
- $100 state penalty assessment
- $70 county penalty assessment
- $50 DNA penalty assessment
- $50 court construction penalty assessment
- $8 EMS surcharge
In addition, tickets are subject to a 20% surcharge. This increases the cost of a ticket for traveling 40 mph in a 25-mph zone to about $564. A traffic ticket attorney Fresno may be able to negotiate these fees depending on the circumstances of your case.
Speeding in a safety enhancement or construction zone
The law mandates increased penalties for drivers who receive a speeding ticket in one of these special zones. Fines in a safety enhancement zone increase to $280 for conviction of driving up to 15 mph over the speed limit, $409 for traveling 16 to 25 mph over the speed limit and $532 for traveling more than 26 mph over the speed limit. Fines in a construction zone include $367 for conviction of driving up to 15 mph over the speed limit, $525 for traveling 16 to 25 mph over the speed limit and $648 for traveling more than 26 mph over the speed limit.
Beyond fines and court costs, you may be responsible for paying a higher car insurance premium after a speeding ticket. Although speeding is a one-point violation in California, a conviction can still affect your coverage rates. The exact increase varies by insurance company, but may be as much as 20% over your previous premium rates.
Using the example above, pretend you received a $564 ticket for a minor speeding infraction. Your auto insurance premium used to be $100 a month. Now, you can expect to pay at least $120 for car insurance each month, a cost of $240 over the year. This brings the total cost of your ticket to more than $800.
If you do receive a California speeding ticket, protect your rights in court with the best speeding ticket lawyer in the area. He or she can speak on your behalf in court to argue for dismissal or decreased penalties.